vanston.co.uk
vanston.co.uk

Reviews

Reviews for A Cat Called Dog

Maria Fitzgerald, Cat World Magazine, Issue 427, October 2013

'I found myself laughing out loud at some of Dog's antics and his character reminded me of a young child caught up in the excitement of life. [...] There are adventures, wonderful characters to meet on the way and also unexpected sadness very much like true life really. [...] I read many books and thoroughly enjoyed this one, from cover to cover.'

 
Jill Murphy, Thebookbag.co.uk http://www.thebookbag.co.uk/reviews/index.php?title=A_Cat_Called_Dog_by_Jem_Vanston
'This is a lovely, sweet, heartwarming book. It will make you happy to read it, regardless of whether you're a cat person or a dog person, or even neither. And in these financially-straitened times, what more could you want? [...] This is a story for cat-lovers everywhere. It's full of funny and accurate details that will strike a chord with any cat owner.'


South Wales Evening Post, August 2013
'Nothing shaggy about this dog story! Its potential has echoes in it of recovering drug addict James Bowen's writing success story told in his award-winning book, A Street Cat Named Bob.

 

For radio interviews, press releases and cuttings, go here:

http://www.troubador.co.uk/book_info.asp?bookid=2177

 

Louise Elliot, BBC Wales:

‘The book’s charming – it’s lovely...’

‘Really witty, entertaining and not just for cat lovers.’

 

Hannah Murray, The Book Show, Talk Radio Europe:

‘A delightful book!’  

 

TheDailyMews.com:

http://www.thedailymews.com/lifestyle/book-and-product-reviews/1257-a-cat-called-dog-by-jem-vanston

‘A Cat Called Dog is an unputdownable read. It’s a wonderful story. Jem’s innate understanding of cats has enabled him to draw five wonderful characters, all totally believable and their behaviour is totally credible.

There are some great observations which George shares with Dog about how ‘two-legs’ live; shocked at the smell room (bathroom) and horrified at the way two-legs wash themselves by lying a bath of water, and many other wittily observed behavioural traits we humans knowingly or unknowingly, show to the master superior race – the Feline!

Underlying what appears to be a simple story of a confused little kitten embarking on a journey to become a fully fledged cat, there is a subtle sub text about acceptance, good and evil, and a whole host of other moral issues. It is incredibly well done and all credit to Jem for a really good and funny book.   

This is a feel-good book with a happy ending and I can’t wait to read more about George, Dog, Eric, Francois and Madame Fifi.’

 

Pixxie Penguin Blog: http://www.pixxiepenguin.co.uk/2014/11/a-cat-called-dog-jem-vanston.html

‘Read it and enjoy it. It’s so funny, entertaining, and gives a great perspective to cats all around the world. Read it. It’s by far one of the best animal books written to date. Pure genius.’

 

M’s Bookshelf (Belgium + Tuscany!): http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.be/2014/09/book-review-cat-called-dog-jem-vanston.html

‘A Cat Called Dog is an amazingly entertaining, heartwarming and funny read. It will make you laugh out loud… A must read for cat lovers.’

 

Your Cat Magazine (September 2014):

‘This is an unputdownable read.’

 

Tattle Tale Blog by Wanda (South Africa): http://tattlet.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/a-cat-called-dog-by-jem-vanston.html

‘This is one of the sweetest books I have ever read. It’s expertly written and had me hooked. It really does transcend all age groups. Get your copy. Believe me – you want to read this book.’

 

Books Monthly Magazine:

‘A charming, witty and entertaining novel for cat lovers everywhere.’

 

Catsey.com PoshPuss:

‘I have read your book A Cat Called Dog and absolutely LOVED it!’

 

NetGalley Reviews:

‘an enjoyable read. I loved it. I’m sure any cat lover will too.’

‘a delightful, well-written short novel. Anyone who has ever owned a cat will relish the cat wisdom, the satire on humans, and the play with puns.’

 

Swansea Cats Protection (via Twitter and Facebook):

‘A massive thank you to Jem Vanston a local author who has kindly donated signed copies of his fabulous novel A Cat Called Dog to us to sell for the cats and kittens of Swansea J But you will have to be quick as they are selling out quickly.

 

Ann Clwyd MP (email 2 October 2013):

‘I had an old schoolfriend staying for a week. She chose to read A Cat Called Dog. She loved it! She asked me to tell you that she hoped to read more from you!’

 

Jilly Cooper – letter 9/7/15:

“Thank you very, very much for your lovely letter and for sending me your book A Cat Called Dog which looked like huge fun.”

 

John Sentamu, Archbishop of York – letter 21/11/14:

“Thank you for sending me copies of ‘Crump’ and ‘A Cat Called Dog’. With every blessing.”

 

Paul O’Grady – letter 18/12/13:

Thank you for sending Paul a copy of your book A Cat Called Dog.”

 

Ken Dodd. Letter 4/3/14:

“Thank you kindly for sending me…A Cat Called Dog.

We have a dog not a cat. A few years ago we had a cat that walked in on us. We called it Nellie because it was so dainty, and then we got a new dog we thought we’d better have the cat checked out at the vet’s and he told us ‘I’ve got news for you: it’s a neutered tom’. So from that day its name became Herbert-Nellie. She lasted many years but currently we just have a dog.”

 

James McVey (Pop star, The Vamps) on Twitter:

“Thanks Jem Vanston for sending me this.”

 

David Battie, Antiques expert and cat lover (emails 23/8/13):

‘Thank you… Curiously, I was going to call one of my Bengals ‘Dog’ but my family vetoed it.’

 

Brian May, musician from Queen (email 21 March 2013):

‘Thank you for the signed copy of A Cat Called Dog.’

 

Norma Tanega, singer of ‘Walking my cat named Dog’ (letter July 2013):

‘Thank you for sending me your book.’

 

David Attenborough (letter 3 July 2013)

‘Thanks for sending me A Cat Called Dog. I look forward to reading it.’

 

Peter May, Swansea/Brynmill Councillor:

‘A nice surprise today. A signed copy from my constituent and friend PJ Vanston of his latest book. Well worth receiving after his first book ‘Crump’! Go out and buy ‘A Cat Called Dog’ by Jem Vanston and support a brilliant Uplands author!’

 

(Books4Tomorrow 21.9.13)

(http://bookstomorrow.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/review-kitty-stuff-cat-called-dog-by.html)

‘I read this entire short novel with my mouth set in a permanent smile.’

 

‘It’s nearly impossible to read this cute little story without smiling the whole time or laughing out loud at the snark and puns so generously sprinkled throughout A Cat Called Dog. The title alone had me grinning!’

 

 

‘The characters each have their own distinct personalities, quirks and traits, and easily made their way into my heart.’

 

‘I highly recommend this novel for anyone looking for an uplifting read that will brighten up their day and leave them with a different perspective on people (or two-legs, as humans are referred to in this little gem) and life in general.’

 

‘a definite must-read!’

 

 

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish BLOG (by Elizabeth):

(http://oboechica-books.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/a-cat-named-dog-jem-vanston.html)

Oh the adorableness!!! I don't think I've ever read cuter, funnier story than this. 

A Cat Called Dog is a perfect book for all ages.  Literally.  It's perfect to read to your children who are old enough to have interest in being read chapter books (and they will laugh, and laugh, and laugh), it's perfect for children who are an intermediate level of reading, and it's perfect for adults.  It's like the best kid movies - kids think they are the BEST, and adults love all the subtle humor that goes over the kids' heads.

Here's why you should read this book:

1. It's adorable.
2.  It's about cats.
3.  It's very insightful about both cats and humans.
4.  It's hilarious.
5.  It's clever.
6.  YOU DON'T NEED A REASON, JUST GO READ IT.  Especially since the author mentioned in the intro that he would be interested in writing more books about the cats if interest was shown!  So go show interest!  I want more cat books!  (And if they aren't about Dog and George, you might break my heart, Mr. Jem Vanston)

 

Hannah Murray, The Book Show, TalkRadioEurope (Southern Spain and Gibraltar) 28/11/13

‘A delightful book!’

 

David Nobbs, creator of Reggie Perrin. (By email, September 2013)

“There were some very funny jokes. ‘Missing, presumed fed.’ Brilliant.”

 

David Bellamy, (by email, October 2013)

A good read with your cat or cats purring on your lap or stalking around the garden. To date our family cherished our cats as members of the family, 15 over almost 40 years and when they shuttled off their feline coil they were laid to rest in the garden. So I just had to read “A Cat called Dog”.

I must say that I enjoyed it right to the end and so did the cat because as I got up to make a cup of tea the dog sat down on the book called Dog. Thank you for sorting all that out. David Bellamy

 

(Jo Hedesan, Oxford Academic, Amazon.co.uk)

“A Cat Called Dog is a charming and engaging tale with several subtle layers of meaning. The author is surely a connoisseur of cats.”

 

(NetGalley November 2013)

As a cat person and lover, this book immediately drew my attention. I was very excited to have the opportunity to review it. First of all, the author does a wonderful job at capturing a cat's mannerisms and characteristics. It's hard to completely describe and pinpoint an animal's actions, especially a cat's, so the fact that the author managed to do so shows that the author spent a great deal of time researching cats and watching them.  This book will definitely provide readers with a smile and several laughs. It was incredibly enjoyable to read, especially for animal people. A quick, light read, this book is for the reader who is looking for something different and for those who love their cats.

 

(Goodreads.com 23.9.13)

Barking mad but brilliant!

Getting a glimpse of the inner workings of the cat kingdom and realising that all cat kind think we are an inferior species in need of their constant company and guidance is hilarious and completely plausible.

 

Any cat lover with a good sense of humour can appreciate what Vanston was trying to accomplish and find themselves grinning throughout as they read about the habits of their cats explained so perfectly.

 

I loved it. I'm sure any other cat lover will too.

 

 

ChristophFischerBooks, (on Goodreads.com 4.11.13)

 

"A Cat Called Dog" by Jem Vanston is a great little read about a cat named dog, whose manners undergo some refining by a ginger tom called George. It is a story about cats from the feline perspective and it has charm, wit and great humour. As dog owner and animal loving vegetarian I am probably the prime target audience for this lovely story about eating, sleeping and washing.

 

The characters in the book are a great bunch and have unique characteristics, for example one speaks in Cockney while another has a French accent. It cleverly plays on the phenomenon of many pet owners to project human characters into animals.

 

Warm, original and very entertaining! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

News

See news of upcoming publications and events

 

31st August 2015: Children's illustrated version of A Cat Called Dog by Jem Vanston published (by Austin Macauley). Available online and at all good bookshops.

Contact

If you'd like to get in touch, please just email:

acatcalleddog@hotmail.co.uk

 

Twitter: @acatcalleddog

Print Print | Sitemap
© PJ Vanston